Skip to Main Content

Library 101

Using the library at FNU

Results

Now that you have executed a search strategy, are the results what you were looking for?  It may be hard to tell initially.  When looking at a list of results in EBSCOhost, you can click on the title for the article record.  This record will give you further information about the article, including an abstract, which is a short summary of the article.  Some records may not contain an abstract.  This could be because the article is not long enough to have been abstracted (it might just be a letter or abstract of a presentation) or the record is new and the article has not been summarized yet.  Reading the abstract is very important in determining if the article addresses your need.  The screenshot below shows a typical article record.

article record

The information in the article record is separated by fields.  Each field gives one piece of information about the article.  Some are obvious, like the title and author fields.  Others that you might not know about can be really helpful.  For example, the publication type field lets you know if the article is an editorial or a review article or a letter.  You don’t want to bother reading a letter to the editor if you have been charged with finding a review article. When you see links in an article record, it usually means that you can click on that link to run a search using that criteria.  For example, clicking on the author’s name will find other articles by that same author.

Retrieving Full Text

As you see above, article records in EBSCOhost show options for retrieving the full text of the article on the left.  If the article is readily available within the database, you'll see a link to the full text (linked, PDF, or HTML).

If there is no full text link, use the link that says "Full Text Finder." This link will take you to the full text of the article in a new tab or window at the journal's site or from another source.

If we do not have access to the article, you'll see a link to request it via Interlibrary Loan. This link will open a article request form. Completing this form starts the interlibrary loan process.

Interlibrary Loan

You will recall from the list of terms shown earlier that interlibrary loan (ILL) is when libraries share resources with one another. When you request an article via ILL, we will send the article to you via email as a PDF attachment. We ask that you allow 2-3 business days to receive an article from ILL. It may not take that long, but as you can see in the image below, there are several steps involved, so delays are possible.

 

For more information on Interlibrary Loan, please follow this link

Retrieving an Article Found Elsewhere

Do you have an article title or citation but you have no idea how to get the full text? We've created a guide for this. Follow the link below to learn how to use DOI, PMID, and other useful quick retrieval techniques. 

Quick Article Retrieval