FNU provides students with clinical reference mobile apps to use during clinicals. We feel that access to information at the point of care will enhance your clinical experience. The apps provided are discussed below and on the following pages. You will need to read all of this information carefully. You will use these apps at Clinical Bound, so you should download and install them on your mobile device prior to the start of Clinical Bound.
Access for most of the apps requires you to create a personal account with the vendor. It will be easier to set up these accounts on a computer rather than a mobile device. Once you have the accounts created, you can then download the apps and login with that account information. More detailed installation instructions are below.
Lexicomp is best known as a drug reference, but it includes other clinical information as well. FNU provides students with the Lexi-COMPLETE mobile app which contains over 20 databases with comprehensive drug coverage and other clinical resources, for example, 5-Minute Clinical Consult, Natural Products, Infectious Diseases, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. We also have access to Lexicomp Online, a web-based product with most of the same information, which is available from the Library homepage.
Note: It will be easier to complete the set-up process for the Lexicomp mobile app from a computer.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool that provides evidence-based summaries for over 3,000 topics. DynaMed can be accessed from the Library homepage, and there is also a mobile app. To access the mobile app, go into the web version and create a personal account (click on "Sign In" in the upper right, then "Register.")
Note: It may be easier to complete steps 1-4 from a computer.
More information on DynaMed:
UpToDate is a clinical reference tool covering a wide variety of topics. It can be accessed from the Library homepage, and there is also a mobile app. To access the mobile app, first click on the link on the Library homepage (under Clinical Resources) where you will be prompted to create a personal account. You can then use that account information to login to the app.
If you do not have an UpToDate account:
Sanford Guide is the gold standard reference material for infection disease therapies. The web version can be accessed from the Library homepage and there is also a mobile app. Access and installation instructions are below.