Scholarship Resources for Faculty

This padlet offers links to the presentations that were offered during our two-day Mini Symposium. There are links to presenter slides, presentation recordings, and PADLETS with relevant resources, related ideas, and faculty responses to the presentations.

Dr. Pearce presents as our keynote speaker on defining scholarship, identifying options in scholarly work, sharing scholarly work, and primary steps in planning scholarly work.

Dr. Pearce presents as our keynote speaker on defining scholarship, identifying options in scholarly work, sharing scholarly work, and primary steps in planning scholarly work.

In this padlet, resources related to Dr. Pearce's presentation on scholarship are arrayed. Mini Symposium participants posted comments and responses to topics addressed and links to related topics are posted.

Dr. Likis presents an overview of the scholarly writing process and the publication process, and offered resources and advice on details of the steps in writing, review, and publishing.

Dr. Likis presents an overview of the scholarly writing process and the publication process, and offered resources and advice on details of the steps in writing, review, and publishing.

In this padlet, resources related to Dr. Likis' presentation on scholarly publication are arrayed. Mini Symposium participants posted comments and responses to topics addressed. Links to related resources and topics are posted.

Dr. Hagen presents on principles for effective presentation structure, organizing content, presentation skills, and technical tips.

Dr. Hagen presents on principles for effective presentation structure, organizing content, presentation skills, and technical tips.

In this padlet, resources related to presentation skills and standards are arrayed with links. Mini Symposium participants posted comments and responses to the topics addressed. Links to presentation resources and topics are posted.

The Eyedropper feature in Powerpoint enables the presenter to match text color themes from graphics in Powerpoint. Dr. Hagen presents a tutorial on the feature in this video.

This list provides references to literature about effective presentation skills and resources. There is a list of sites for acquiring graphics to enhance presentations, and also links to other helpful websites to improve presentation content.

Dr. Carter-Templeton presented tips for overcoming writer's block and addressing barriers to translating portions of doctoral scholarship to publications or presentations. She addressed tips for identifying a journal, following guidelines, productivity, and discussed the importance of writing for publication in nursing.

Dr. Carter-Templeton presented tips for overcoming writer's block and addressing barriers to translating portions of doctoral scholarship to publications or presentations. She addressed tips for identifying a journal, following guidelines, productivity, and discussed the importance of writing for publication in nursing.

In this padlet, resources related to motivation and processes for publishing doctoral scholarship are arrayed with links. Mini Symposium participants posted comments and responses to the topics addressed. Links to presentation resources and topics are posted, including some excellent suggestions for books and a CNE Series on Preparing Qulity Improvement, Research, and Evidence-Based Practice Manuscripts (by Oermann, Turner & Carman).

Dr. Melander offers encouragement and suggestions about promoting nursing expertise in scholarly venues. Nursing expertise is clinically based, and nursing educators have professional expertise in faculty- and student-based practices which offer opportunities to disseminate knowledge on a broad array of topics. Nurses can network in many forums to engage professionally and promote ideas.

Dr. Melander offers encouragement and suggestions about promoting nursing expertise in scholarly venues. Nursing expertise is clinically based, and nursing educators have professional expertise in faculty- and student-based practices which offer opportunities to disseminate knowledge on a broad array of topics. Nurses can network in many forums to engage professionally and promote ideas.

In this padlet, resources related to networking to share expertise, generating ideas for scholarship, and working with realistic goals and collaborating to disseminate professional knowledge are presented. Mini Symposium participants posted comments and responses to the topics addressed. Links to presentation resources and topics are posted, including some excellent suggestions for working in groups and promoting innovation in the field of nursing.

This list documents ideas discussed in the Mini Symposium during and after Dr. Melander's presentation and offers topic ideas for FNU faculty scholarship, as ideas about how to gather resources and jump start scholarly projects and writing activities.

Dr. Cockerham presents and overview of financial and time incentives for faculty scholarship, also found in the Faculty Handbook on pp. 67-68.

Cynthia Byars presents an overview of the grant services provided for FNU by Grant and Development staff. FNU offers support for scholarly endeavors and campus programs and scholarships, and includes help with collaboration with other institutions, help with paperwork, and budget development.

Cynthia Byars presents an overview of the grant services provided for FNU by Grant and Development staff. FNU offers support for scholarly endeavors and campus programs and scholarships, and includes help with collaboration with other institutions, help with paperwork, and budget development.

Zach presents an overview of services for faculty including help with RefWorks reference manager software, working with our librarians, and support for literature searches in various databases. Zach also introduced features on our new Library website.

Zach presents an overview of services for faculty including help with RefWorks reference manager software, working with our librarians, and support for literature searches in various databases. Zach also introduced features on our new Library website.

Gail presents on technical editing services available to support faculty publication to help manuscripts conform to journal style guidelines. Support includes helping with technical format standards (such as table and figure construction), with reference style, submission to publishers, and revision and resubmission.

Gail presents on technical editing services available to support faculty publication to help manuscripts conform to journal style guidelines. Support includes helping with technical format standards (such as table and figure construction), with reference style, submission to publishers, and revision and resubmission.

This padlet offers tips and links related to services offered to FNU faculty by library, grant, and editing personnel, and ideas to help with funding, literature searches, other library services for faculty, and editing processes. Also has a list of sources for scholarly endeavors and forms found in the FNU Faculty Handbook (p. 67).