Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Coaching Standardized Patients by
Publication Date: 1957-01-01
In today's medical education curriculum, it is necessary for students to learn the proper technique for taking medical histories, performing physical exams, and finding the appropriate way to educate and inform patients. The best way for a student to learn these skills is through hands-on training with a Standardized Patient (SP)--an actor who has been hired to portray a specific set of health problems and symptoms. Tips to Help You ... Develop Coaching Skills and Be a Director to Your SPs Cast Standardized Patients Get the Best Performance from Your Actors Perfect Your SPs' Timing of Fact Delivery during Examinations Improve the SPs' Written Feedback to Students Streamline Training Regimens; Checklists Included Working with SPs has become so important in medical education that it is now a component of the USMLE clinical skills assessment exam. To ensure best practice, the coaches who prepare SPs now need general guidelines. This handbook is intended as that guide and as a support for those who are involved in training SPs, to encourage each coach to develop a system that will deliver the best results and, in the end, help train the most competent doctors.
Assessment in Health Professions Education by
Publication Date: 2009-04-21
Assessment in Health Professions Education provides comprehensive guidance for persons engaged in the teaching and testing of the health professions - medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmacy and allied fields.nbsp;nbsp; Part I of the book provides a user-friendly introduction to assessment fundamentals and their theoretical underpinnings; Part II describes specific assessment methods used in the health professions, with a focus on best practices, assessment challenges, and practical guidelines for the effective implementation of successful assessment programs. nbsp; Key features: Comprehensive - the first text to provide broad, single-source coverage of all aspects of assessment in the health professions. Accessible - while scholarly and evidence-based, the book is geared towards health professions educators who are not measurement specialists. Thematic - assessment validity is an organizing theme and provides a conceptual framework throughout the book.
Practical Guide to the Evaluation of Clinical Competence by
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
This up-to-date, practical guide to outcomes-based assessment in clinical education delivers important evaluation methods, tools, and faculty training approaches for all medical educators. Written by proven experts, this guide will be an invaluable resource to you in developing, implementing, and sustaining effective systems for the evaluation of clinical competence in medical school, residency, and fellowship programs. Content is organized and written according to the ACGME-mandated Core Competencies making the information timely and useful. Guidelines that apply across the medical education spectrum allow you to implement the book's methods in any educational situation. The authors' suggested techniques and approaches to all aspects of medical education let you translate theory into practice. Includes a DVD with video case studies of effective (and ineffective) evaluation sessions, highlighting key steps and mistakes to avoid. Includes major evaluation methods, including: Evaluation forms and rating scales Standardized tests and in-training examinations Medical record and practice audits 360 degree evaluations Portfolios Direct observation by standardized patients and faculty Simulation
Remediation in Medical Education by
Publication Date: 2013-11-27
Remediation in medical education is the act of facilitating a correction for trainees who started out on the journey toward becoming excellent physicians but have moved off course. This book offers an evidence-based and practical approach to the identification and remediation of medical trainees who are unable to perform to standards. As assessment of clinical competence and professionalism has become more sophisticated and ubiquitous, medical educators increasingly face the challenge of implementing effective and respectful means to work with trainees who do not yet meet expectations of the profession and society. Remediation in Medical Education: A Mid-Course Correction describes practical stepwise approaches to remediate struggling learners in fundamental medical competencies; discusses methods used to define competencies and the science underlying the fundamental shift in the delivery and assessment of medical education; explores themes that provide context for remediation, including professional identity formation and moral reasoning, verbal and nonverbal learning disabilities, attention deficit disorders in high-functioning individuals, diversity, and educational and psychiatric topics; and reviews system issues involved in remediation, including policy and leadership challenges and faculty development.
Objective Structured Clinical Examinations by
Publication Date: 2012-12-19
Objective structured clinical examinations/exercises (OSCEs) using standardized patients (SPs) are an efficient means of surveying a diverse range of ability at any point along the continuum of medical education. An OSCE station can address multiple competency assessments across undergraduate, graduate, and continuing medical education. Nevertheless, organizing and enacting OSCEs is a major undertaking and, as with most other educational projects, collaborating within and across specialties and disciplines only enriches the process. The production of an effective OSCE program requires strong leaders committed to the benefits of such assessments, as well as many individuals to plan, prepare, and implement the program. To address the need for general guidelines of best practice and consistent organizational stratagem, Objective Structured Clinicl Exams is a comprehensive how-to manual for OSCE implementation. It contains an overview of and criteria for best practice, a review of relevant literature, insight into the program's influence throughout the healthcare system, and techniques for fine-tuning existing programs. Accompanying charts, graphs and sample forms are included to make this book the single resource for any educator interested in creating or improving a standardized patient program.
Healthcare Simulation Education by
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Written by a leading team from the Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH), Simulation Australasia, Healthcare Simulation Education is a new resource for a rapidly expanding professional healthcare simulation community. Designed as a core reference for educators who use simulation as an educational method, it outlines theory, evidence and research relevant to healthcare simulation. Containing examples of innovations from around the world, the book offers opportunities to make clear connections between the underlying rationale for the use of simulation, and what this looks like in practice. Healthcare Simulation Education: Helps readers gain a systematic understanding of theory and application of simulation Facilitates access to high quality resources to support healthcare simulation education and research Edited by a leading team from the Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH), the leading body for healthcare simulation in Australia Contains information on educational theory, the elements of simulation practice and contemporary issues in simulation An important text in healthcare literature and practice, Healthcare Simulation Education provides a unique cross-disciplinary overview of an innovative subject area, and is ideal for medical, nursing and allied health educators, policy makers and researchers.
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs by
Publication Date: 2014-12-12
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs is an official publication of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare (SSH), created to support the Society's mission to encourage excellence in healthcare education, practice and research through the use of simulation. With nearly 140 expert clinicians and educators contributing, this authoritative guide offers clear-cut definitions, recommendations and best practices for all types of simulation training programs. This is a must-read for healthcare managers, educators and researchers looking to create or manage successful, cost-effective, researched-based simulation programs. A wide range of topics -- essential to the development and management of successful and cost-effective simulation programs - include: Simulation Standards - best practices and program development; Types of Simulation Programs - infrastructure, framework; Simulators - types, selection and usage; Funding - fundraising, income sources; Management - asset management, policies and procedures; Environmental Design - building a simulation center; technical infrastructure; and Educational Development; Faculty Development; Research, and more, including: * Well-referenced, reader-friendly content is continually available, practical and timely * Standards and recommendations based on actual programs around the world that have proven to be sustainable, cost-effective and successful * Editors and many authors central to SSH's role in learning and defining best practices for simulation and simulation program management * Interprofessional group of editors and authors offering diverse perspectives, from areas of nursing, medicine, allied health, numerous specialties, and non-clinical fields including organizational behavior, psychology, statistics, business, and engineering * Terms of Reference - Defines and standardizes simulation terms and concepts for users, learners and developers * Experts Corner - Commentary on particular areas of training, research and program development by simulation experts and founders * Consider This - Text boxes provide practical how-to sections on important related topics >
Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education by
Publication Date: 2013-11-13
While confronting many challenges related to changes in health care, higher education, and clinical practice, nurse educators are exploring new opportunities for innovative teaching/learning methods, new clinical models, and educational practices to provide high-quality education to promote optimal, quality patient care. Clinical simulations can provide health care educators one approach to create student-centered, experiential environments that engage and prepare the learner for real-world practice. Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education: Advanced Concepts, Trends, and Opportunities provides chapters authored by expert simulation researchers, educators, and users to shed light on important advancements and emerging topics in clinical simulation including: * Enhanced interprofessional education and practice through simulation * Meaningful debriefing * Expansion of clinical simulation globally * Development of a good business plan and consideration of the economic model of a simulation center * Research and evaluation of clinical simulation * High-stakes simulation * Certification of educators and accreditation of simulation centers
Simulation in Nursing Education by
Publication Date: 2012-09-20
The second edition of Simulation in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation is a wide reaching text presenting a complete range of issues and advances in simulation. Simulation in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation provides both a foundation for the novice and advanced strategies for the seasoned simulation educator. Simulation in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation approaches the challenges and opportunities of simulation by updating the work of the first edition to reflect the most pressing issues and innovations in simulation. Two new chapters address the art of debriefing and integrating patient safety competencies into clinical simulations. Another new chapter describes how the Quality in Safety for Education in Nursing (QSEN) competencies can be integrated into clinical simulation scenarios. Although this is a second edition, the book is still considered a foundational one, providing core, essential content to those educators who are just beginning their journey using clinical simulations whether they are in an academic setting or a clinical institution. The first edition of Simulation in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation altered the teaching and learning environment of nursing. The second edition is an essential resource for every nurse educator at every level of nursing education.
Medical Moulage by
Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Make your simulations come alive with this cookbook for medical moulage! Hear, feel, see, and smell like it's the real thing! Here's an easy-to-use guide to creating over 300 special effects for clinical simulations! Simple recipes with over 1,200 vibrant, full-color illustrations provide step-by-step directions that use readily available ingredients. Heighten the realism in your simulations whether using manikins or live actors! Check out these sample recipes: Abscesses Sutures Newborn and Pediatric
The Comprehensive Textbook of Healthcare Simulation by
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
The Comprehensive Textbook of Healthcare Simulation is a cohesive, single-source reference on all aspects of simulation in medical education and evaluation. It covers the use of simulation in training in each specialty and is aimed at healthcare educators and administrators who are developing their own simulation centers or programs and professional organizations looking to incorporate the technology into their credentialing process. For those already involved in simulation, the book will serve as a state-of-the-art reference that helps them increase their knowledge base, expand their simulation program's capabilities, and attract new, additional target learners. Features: * Written and edited by pioneers and experts in healthcare simulation * Personal memoirs from simulation pioneers * Each medical specialty covered * Guidance on teaching in the simulated environment * Up-to-date information on current techniques and technologies * Tips from "insiders" on funding, development, accreditation, and marketing of simulation centers * Floor plans of simulation centers from across the United States * Comprehensive glossary of terminology
The NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory by
Publication Date: 2015-09-09
Developed through theoretical thinking and tested by nurse education researchers, the NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory helps to articulate phenomena that exist within clinical simulation. By establishing and communicating known relationships within these phenomena, this theory provides a strong foundation for research and education, and enables future discovery of best practices in simulation. Through rigorous research and literature review, and by incorporating the perspectives of nurses immersed in simulation activities, The NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory is an effective guide to implementation and further research.
Clinical Simulation by
Publication Date: 2007-12-05
Simulation facilities are invaluable for training in medicine and clinical education, biomedical engineering and life sciences. They allow the practice of prevention, containment, treatment, and procedure in a risk-free setting. This book is a practical guide and reference to the latest technology, operations and opportunities presented by clinical simulation. It shows how to develop and make efficient use of resources, and provides hands-on information to those tasked with setting up and delivering simulation facilities for medical, clinical and related purposes, and the development and delivery of simulation-based education programs A step-by-step manual to developing successful simulation programs Shows how to design, construct, outfit and run simulation facilities for clinical education and research. The Residency Review Committee of the US Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education has begun requiring residency programs to have simulation as an integral part of their training programs.
Power Play by
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
The phenomenal growth of gaming has inspired plenty of hand-wringing since its inception--from the press, politicians, parents, and everyone else concerned with its effect on our brains, bodies, and hearts. But what if games could be good, not only for individuals but for the world? InPower Play, Asi Burak and Laura Parker explore how video games are now pioneering innovative social change around the world. As the former executive director and now chairman of Games for Change, Asi Burak has spent the last ten years supporting and promoting the use of video games for social good, in collaboration with leading organizations like the White House, NASA, World Bank, and The United Nations. The games for change movement has introduced millions of players to meaningful experiences around everything from the Israeli-Palestinian conflict to the US Constitution. Power Play looks to the future of games as a global movement. Asi Burak and Laura Parker profile the luminaries behind some of the movement's most iconic games, including former Supreme Court judge Sandra Day O’Connor and Pulitzer-Prize winning authors Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. They also explore the promise of virtual reality to address social and political issues with unprecedented immersion, and see what the next generation of game makers have in store for the future.
Good Video Games and Good Learning by
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Good Video Games and Good Learning presents the most important essays by James Paul Gee devoted to the ways in which good video games create good learning. The chapters in this book argue that good games teach through well-designed problem-solving experiences. They also prove that game-based learning must involve more than software and technology and engage with the design of passionate-affinity spaces where people mentor each other’s learning and engagement. In the end, the book offers a model of collaborative, interactive, and embodied learning centered on problem solving, a model that can be enhanced by games, but which can be accomplished in many different ways with or without games.
The Multiplayer Classroom by
Publication Date: 2011-06-09
Discover how to engage your students and raise their grades and attendance in your classroom. THE MULTIPLAYER CLASSROOM: DESIGNING COURSEWORK AS A GAME is your detailed guide to designing any structured learning experience as a game. Written for professional educators or those learning to be educators, here are the tools to engage and excite students by using principles learned in the development of popular video games. Suitable for use in the classroom or the boardroom, the book features a reader-friendly style that introduces game concepts and vocabulary in a logical way. You don't need any experience making games or even playing games to use this book. Yet, you will learn how to create multiplayer games for any age on any subject. Bring your classroom into the 21st century!
Reality Is Broken by
Publication Date: 2011-12-27
A visionary game designer reveals how we can harness the power of games to boost global happiness. With 174 million gamers in the United States alone, we now live in a world where every generation will be a gamer generation. But why, Jane McGonigal asks, should games be used for escapist entertainment alone? In this groundbreaking book, she shows how we can leverage the power of games to fix what is wrong with the real world-from social problems like depression and obesity to global issues like poverty and climate change-and introduces us to cutting-edge games that are already changing the business, education, and nonprofit worlds. Written for gamers and non-gamers alike, Reality Is Broken shows that the future will belong to those who can understand, design, and play games.
Actionable Gamification by
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
The new era of Gamification and Human-Focused Design optimizes for motivation and engagement over traditional Function-Focused Design. Within the industry, studies on game mechanics and behavioral psychology have become proliferate. However, few people understand how to merge the two fields into experience designs that reliably increases business metrics and generates a return on investment. Gamification Pioneer Yu-kai Chou takes reader on a journey to learn his twelve years of obsessive research in creating the Octalysis Framework, and how to apply the framework to create engaging and successful experiences in their product, workplace, marketing, and personal lives.
The Gamification of Learning and Instruction by
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Praise for The Gamification of Learning and Instruction "Kapp argues convincingly that gamification is not just about adding points, levels and badges to an eLearning program, but about fundamentally rethinking learning design. He has put together a brilliant primer for learning professionals on how to gamify learning, packed with useful advice and examples." --ANDERS GRONSTEDT, president, Gronstedt Group "After reading this book, you'll never be able to design boring learning again." --CONNIE MALAMED, author, Visual Language For Designers; author/creator of The eLearning Coach Blog "Engaging, informative and complete; if you need to understand anything about instructional game design, this is the book you need. It provides the right amount of academic evidence, practical advice and insightful design tips to have you creating impactful learning in no time." --SHERRY ENGEL, associate director learning technology, Penn Medicine Center for Innovation and Learning "What Karl Kapp has done with this book is looked at games and learning from every possible angle....he provocatively asks questions that the learning community needs to answer, like 'Do our design processes still work?' and 'Are we really meeting the needs of today's learners?' This book may make you anxious, make you laugh, or make you angry. But one thing it will definitely do is make you think." --RICH MESCH, experiential learning guru, Performance Development Group
Efficiency in Learning by
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Efficiency in Learning offers a road map of the most effective ways to use the three fundamental communication of training: visuals, written text, and audio. Regardless of how you are delivering your training materials-in the classroom, in print, by synchronous or asynchronous media-the book's methods are easily applied to your lesson presentations, handouts, reference guides, or e-learning screens. Designed to be a down-to-earth resource for all instructional professionals, Efficiency in Learning's guidelines are clearly illustrated with real-world examples.
Instructional Guidance by
Publication Date: 2015-05-13